President of the Federated States of Micronesia Presents Outstanding Citizen Awards in Honolulu

Honolulu, HAWAII (The Senate, State of Hawaii), September 27, 2008 - President Emanuel Mori of the Federated States of Micronesia today presents Presidential Outstanding Citizens Award to fourteen FSM business and community leaders in Hawaii, at a ceremony at the Hawaii State Capitol.

These were the first such awards presented, and included recipients from all four FSM states; Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei and Yap.

“I am proud to recognize the efforts of these individuals, and their work for and on behalf of the people of the Federated States of Micronesia,” said President Mori. “We appreciate that we have been welcomed as a part of the community in Hawaii, and for the opportunities our citizens have been offered. These awards are our way of acknowledging the hard work of these outstanding members of our shared community.”

State Senator J. Kalani English (District 6 – Hana, East and Upcounty Maui, Moloka’I, Lana’I and Kaho’olawe) joined President Mori in recognizing today’s awardees. “The Micronesian community is a growing part of our Hawaii,” Senator English said. “Those recognized today have helped foster the inclusion of their community into ours, to help build a stronger, more diverse combined community. Culturally, economically, and socially, that makes Hawaii a better place.”

Receiving awards at today’s ceremony were:
Chuuk State
Mr. Seis Arechy - Administrator, US Social Security Administration, Honolulu Office
Mrs. Margarita Cholymay – PhD candidate at the University of Hawaii
Mr. Sekap Esah – Pastor and founder of the Chuukese Nuuanu Baptist Church
Mr. Elvis Shirai – formerly with Mitsubishi of Hawaii receiving numerous salesman of the month awards, now employed by Tony Nissan

Kosrae State
Ms. Yoslyn Sigrah – law degree from UH, employed by law firm in Honolulu
Ms. Lillian Segal – MA in Education Technology from the University of Hawaii (and working on her PhD), employed by Hawaii State Department of Education as a Honolulu District Program Coordinator
Mr. Elwel Tauleng – Kitchen Manager, Marriot Beach Hotel/Chuck’s Steakhouse

Pohnpei State
Mr. Radigan David – Pastor/founder of Pohnpei Fellowship Ministry at the Central Union Church
Mr. Nelsin Wilson – Operations Manager, Seals Master Company
Mr. Mitchell Neth – MA in Criminal Justice from Chaminade University, employed by the Honolulu Police Department as an officer

Yap State
Mr. Lubuw Falanruw – CEO/President of Digital Mediums
Mr. Jess Defan – President of Waab Association of Honolulu, employed by Pizza Hut as a manager
Mr. Ronald Yow – Owner of Orego Enterprises
Mr. Max J. Yarawamai – Founder, Resort Management Group

Awardees were selected by FSM citizens’ association in Honolulu as well-established and successful owners of private businesses, or leaders of community organizations owned by or servicing FSM citizens living in Hawaii.

President Mori was accompanied by Federated States of Micronesia dignitaries including Mr. Yosiwo George, Ambassador to the United States; Mr. Lorin Robert, Secretary of Foreign Affairs; Mr. James Naich, Deputy Chief of Mission to the United States; Ms. Vita Skilling, Secretary of Health and Social Affairs; and Mr. Kasio Mida, Chief of Staff to the President.